ANTARPAT – KERALA MURAL

Its been a series of breaks… and I hope to do frequent blogging from now.. I had been away for my marriage! Yes.. I have settled down now and decided to come up with a few quick posts about a few art works that I had been working on, amidst all the commotion at home 🙂

I hand-painted this Antarpat for my marriage. An antarpat is an auspicious cloth which separates the Bride and Groom at the beginning of the wedding to symbolize their separate existence prior to the marriage. The exchange of garland and other rituals follow once the antarpat /cloth barrier is removed.

It took about a month to paint this piece with Radha and Krishna in the Kerala Mural style. I have a few pictures with the progress…

This was the initial sketch

DSC_0659
KERALA MURAL SKETCH

And then things started taking shape..

DSC_0668
ANTARPAT-KERALA MURAL
DSC_0692
ANTARPAT-KERALA MURAL
DSC_0713
ANTARPAT-KERALA MURAL

At the marriage…

The priests were amazed with the painting 🙂

IMGL5235
ANTARPAT- KERALA MURAL

Like I explained earlier.. I made an entrance.. and the groom was seated behind the sacred cloth.

IMGL5263
ANTARPAT-KERALA MURAL
SVS_6639
ANTARPAT-KERALA MURAL
DSC_8969
Radha- KERALA MURAL
SVS_6649
ANTARPAT-KERALA MURAL

A blast of colour and a feast to the eyes sums up this painting!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

